Curriculum

The Baylor Law LL.M. in Litigation Management provides candidates with both a broad understanding as well as a deep dive into the highly valued disciplines, tools and techniques critical to successful litigation management. From the fundamentals of litigation planning, strategy and risk management, to electronic discovery, case assessment and fee management, to new and evolving technology tools, data analytics and cyber security—candidates hone their skills alongside some of the top litigation management experts in the country.

The LL.M. degree program requires 36 trimester hours (equivalent to 24 semester hours), spanning three trimesters (Fall, Spring and Fall), along with a summer research project. Courses are taught online with a one-week, on-campus requirement at Baylor Law at the close of each of the three trimesters:

Trimester 1: Flexible Online Learning – Monday, September 24, 2018 – Friday, January 4, 2019
Course Credits
Fundamentals of Litigation Management 5
Litigation Data Management: Data Analytics & Cybersecurity 2
Proving and Attacking Damages 2
Forum Issues Affecting Major Litigation 1
Management of Expert Witnesses 1
Research Project Phase 1 1
Trimester 1: Intensive On-Campus Learning – Friday, January 11 – Saturday, January 19, 2019

Trimester 2: Flexible Online Learning – Monday, January 28, 2019 – Friday, May 10, 2019
Course Credits
Management of Electronic Discovery 4
Business Strategy and Processes in Litigation Management 3
International Issues in Litigation Management 2
Litigation Crisis Management Part 1 1
Privilege Issues Affecting Litigation Management 1
Research Project Phase 2 1
Trimester 2: Intensive On-Campus Learning – Friday, May 1 – Saturday, May 11, 2019

Summer – Independent Research and Writing – Monday, May 27 – Friday, August 2, 2019
Summer Research Project

Trimester 3: Flexible Online Learning – Monday, August 5, 2019 – Friday, November 8, 2019
Course Credits
Litigation Project Management and Alternative Fee Agreements 3
Case Assessment Techniques 2
Management of Regulatory Investigations 2
Management of Complex Arbitration and ADR Issues 1
Insurance Coverage and Claims Reservation 1
Litigation Crisis Management Part 2 1
Future Technology Trends in Litigation Management 1
Research Project Phase 3 1
Trimester 3: Intensive On-Campus Learning – Saturday, November 9 – Sunday, November 17, 2019